SCHOLARLY PRACTICEAustralian Academy of Law

In May 2012 Dr Freckelton AO KC was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.

The Australian Academy of Law (AAL) is Australia’s latest ‘learned Academy’ and joins  the four other learned societies already in existence in Australia: the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA),  the Australian Academy  of Humanities (AAH), the Australian Academy  of Science (AAS), and the Academy of Technological  Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).

The AAL is a broadly-based and permanent  body, comprising individuals of exceptional distinction from all parts of the  legal community—elected from the judiciary, legal practitioners and legal  academics—united in a common goal of advancement of the discipline of law and  the justice system: