Judicial Practice


In October 2017 Ian Freckelton was appointed a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nauru.

Nauru’s Supreme Court is the highest court of the Republic of Nauru. It is established by Part V of the Nauruan Constitution upon Nauru obtaining independence in 1968. It has five justices who are appointed by the President. The Supreme Court has original and appellate jurisdiction. Appeals from the Nauru Supreme Court go the Australian High Court.

The Honourable Dr Justice Freckelton sits principally on administrative law cases, especially on appeals from the Nauru Refugee Review Status Tribunal which was established after Nauru acceded in 2011 to the United Nations Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees. The decisions of the Court are reported on http://www.paclii.org/nr/cases/NRSC/

Justice Freckelton’s judicial appointment in Nauru is on a fly-in fly-out basis, permitting him to continue his practice as a Queen’s Counsel in Australia.